DEPARTMENT LEADERSHIP

Department Head: Evan McKenzie
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Dick Simpson
Interim Director of Graduate Studies: Alexandra Filindra



Faculty

Name Office Phone Email Address Subfield Topics of Interest
Robert Bruhl 312-413-3775 rbruhl1@uic.edu American Politics Legislative Politics, Voting and Elections, Economics, Policy Analysis, Statistics, Research Methods, Strategic Analysis
Seung-Whan Choi 312-413-3280 whanchoi@uic.edu International Relations Terrorism, U.S. Foreign Policy, International Conflict Research Methods
Stephen G. Engelmann 312-413-3781 sengelma@uic.edu Political Theory Historical and Contemporary Political and EconomicTheory, Early-Modern English Political Thought, Bentham Studies
Andreas Feldmann 312-996-7270 feldmana@uic.edu International Relations Political Violence, Terrorism, Human Rights, Population Uprooting, International Cooperation, Development
Alexandra Filindra 312-996-1234 aleka@uic.edu American Politics Political Behavior, Immigration Policy, Race and Ethnicity, Comparative Politics
Katharine M. Floros   312-996-8778  kmfloros@uic.edu International Relations  Civic Conflict, Demography and Conflict, Civil War Negotiations, American Foreign Policy
Cedric Johnson  312-413-1274 cedjohns@uic.edu Urban Politics
Racial and Ethnic Politics, African American Political Thought, Neoliberalism, Political Economy, Labor Studies,Critical Urban Theory
Noah J. Kaplan
 312-413-0440  njkaplan@uic.edu
American Politics
Public Opinion, Political Communication, Campaign and Elections, Representation, Quantitive Methodology
Petia Kostadinova 312-413-2187 pkostad@uic.edu Comparative Politics Comparative Politics, European Union, East Europe
Kevin Lyles 312-996-3105 lyles@uic.edu American Government Constitutional Law, Judicial Process, African-American Legal History, Gender and Law
Evan McKenzie 312-413-3782 mckenzie@uic.edu Urban Politics, Public Law, American Politics
housing policy, land use, judicial process, constitutional law
Norma Claire Moruzzi 312-996-2794 nmoruzzi@uic.edu Political Theory Feminist Theory, Politics of Social Identity, Middle Eastern and Islamic Women Film Studies
Amalia V. Pallares 312-413-9170 amalia@uic.edu Comparative Politics Racial and Ethnic Politics in Latin America, Comparative Politics, Latinos in the United States
Dick W. Simpson 312-413-3780 simpson@uic.edu Urban Politics Chicago Politics, Elections, State and Local Politics, Neighborhood Empowerment, Public Corruption
Sultan Tepe 312-355-0128 sultant@uic.edu Comparative Politics Democratization, Religion and Politics, Political Parties, Radical Political Groups, Research Methods, Judicial Reforms, Middle Eastern Politics
Yue Zhang 312-996-2396 yuezhang@uic.edu Urban Politics, Comparative Politics Urban Governance, Urbanization in Developing Countries, Globalization, Historic Preservation, Cultural Policy

VISITING FACULTY

Name Office Phone Email Address Subfield Topics of Interest
Alba Alexander
312-413-3774 aalex@uic.edu American Politics Public Policy, American Political Development, State and Local Politics, Comparative Political Economy, Civic Engagement

aFFILIATED FACULTY

Name Office Phone Email Address Subfield Topics of Interest
Christopher Mooney 217-300-9000 cmoon1@uillinois.edu  Public Administration, State Government Public Administration, State Government
Matt Motyl 312-996-3037 moytl@uic.edu Political Psychology Social Psychology
Michael Pagano  312-413-3375  mapagano@uic.edu Urban Politics Public Administration 
David Perry 312-996-3108  dperry@uic.edu Urban Planning and Policy Urban Political Economy and Theory of State, Spatial Theory and Urban Planning, Urban Finance, Public Infrastructure and Governance, Regionalism and Structures of Governance
Linda J. Skitka 312-996-4464 lskitka@uic.edu Political Psychology Psychology of Terrorism, Ideology and Justice
Maria de los Angeles- Torres 312-996-2510 torresma@uic.edu Comparative Politics Latino Studies, Cuban Politics

Emeritus FACULTY

Name Office Phone Email Address Subfield Topics of Interest
Isaac Balbus 312-413-2185 balbus@uic.edu Political Theory Feminism, Psychoanalysis, Ecology, Critical Theory
John A. Gardiner 312-996-8778 gracelan@uic.edu American Politics Policy Implementation, Political Corruption, Regulatory Systems
Doris A. Graber 312-993-3105 dgraber@uic.edu American Politics American Mass Media, Political Communication, Strategic Communication
Richard M. Johnson 312-996-3105 rjohnson@uic.edu American Politics Democratic Theory & Practice, Politics of Higher Education
Dennis R. Judd
312-996-4421
 djudd@uic.edu Comparative Politics Urban Politics and Policy, Urban Political Economy, Public Policy
Rasma Karklins 312-993-3105 karklins@uic.edu Comparative Politics Soviet/Russian and East European Politics, Ethnic Relations, Political Corruption
B.C. Koh 312-413-3775 bckoh@uic.edu International Relations Far Eastern Studies, Korean Politics, Japanese Politics
Andrew McFarland
 312-993-3105  amcfarla@uic.edu
American Politics
 Interest Groups, Public Policy, Social Movements, Political Participation, Civic Reform, Transitional Networks, Political Consumerism
Barry S. Rundquist 312-413-2190 barryr@uic.edu American Politics Legislatures, Public Policy Formation, Distributive Politics, Policy Analysis
Gerald S. Strom 312-996-5145 gstrom@uic.edu American Politics Legislatures, Parties and Elections, Research Methodology