Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Graduate News

The UIC Department of Political Science is pleased to announce that it will award the following prizes to Political Science Graduate Students this year:

 The Milton Rakove Memorial Fund Award

Two (2) awards- $1,000 each

 We will be awarding two (2) Political Science Graduate Student Research Prizes. Funds are awarded based on scholarly merit, originality, and significance of the research. Topics of research can include, but are not limited to, the fields of Urban, International Relations, or American Politics.

The award funds must be used for specific needs vital to the research project that cannot be supported by resources within the department, advisor’s budget, or other sources of student support. Funds are awarded based on the project budget submitted with the proposal, up to a maximum of $1,000.

Students must submit a proposal which includes:

· A cover letter with name, current mailing address, telephone number, email address, area of research, and year in Graduate Program.

· A research statement which details the purpose, intended methodology, and an itemized budget.

                                             The Echols Memorial Award

One (1) Award - $500

 An award in the amount of $500 will be given to one graduate political science student with the best paper on a topic on public policy analysis or comparative politics.


Deadline for paper submissions for all awards is

Friday, April 15, 2016, at 5:00 p.m.

Deliver the HARD COPY papers and supporting materials to the Political Science Department front office Room 1102, 312-996-3105.  Please direct specific questions regarding the research awards to Professor Alexandra Filindra, Director of Graduate Studies ( or (312) 413-2186

 Papers must be a maximum of 35 pages in length, (should not exceed 35 pages), in APA format, typewritten in 12 point font, and double-spaced.  Additional pages can be included that contain references, tables, and/or figures.  No multiple submissions.

Committees composed of department faculty will make the final selections of the contest winners!