Political Science Celebrates Pi Sigma Alpha new members and student awards!

New members of the Pi Sigma Alpha Political Science National Honor Society were inducted into the UIC Mu Alpha Chapter on Thursday afternoon, April 28, 2016.

Department Head Evan McKenzie, Director of Undergraduate Studies Professor Kevin Lyles, Director of Graduate Studies Professor Alexandra Filindra, and Faculty Advisor of the Chapter Professor Robert Bruhl, were all on hand for the induction ceremony to hand out awards and honor cords.  The new inductees into the Class of 2016 Mu Alpha Chapter include.

Alberto Alejandro Barraza*
Brian Geiger*
Michael P. Halpin*
Maria Hartas*
Eden Nissani (not shown)
Justyna Pietryk*
Humaa Siddiqi*
Shameka Thompson

*graduating seniors

In addition, our undergraduate and graduate end-of-the-school-year contest and prize winners were announced.   Students submitted papers, research proposals, and nominations were made by several faculty members for the selection of the department’s Best Graduating Senior award.  This year there were four faculty committees formed to decide the most deserving winners.  The recipients of the 2016 prizes are,


Milton Rakove Memorial Award Prize  - Best paper on a topic of International Relations

Winner(s) Shameka Thompson and Justyna Pietrzyk.  “Globalization and the Diminishing Working Class.” 

Milton Rakove Memorial Award Prize  - Best paper on a topic of Urban Politics

Winner:  Tierra Bradford. “Urban Politics and Natural Disasters: A Case Study on New Orleans and Hurricane Katrina.”

Ron Brown Memorial Award:  2016 Best Overall Graduating Senior Award

Brian Geiger – Overall outstanding academic achievement, civic engagement, and student service.



Milton Rakove Memorial Award Prize - Best research projects

Aviral Pathak:  “The Art of Governing Well:  Freedon and the Practice of Modern Government in India”

Mine Tafolar:  “Electoral Rules or Undecided Voters:  Challengers and Guardians of Democracies”

Beyza Buyuker:  “U.S. response to the Religion of Refugees”

Congratulations to our new Pi Sigma Alpha inductees, our contests winners, and ALL of our graduating seniors!